add void

Food Pyramid – Plateaus

I can’t actually remember where I discovered Food Pyramid and their fantastic album ‘Plateuas’. Usually it’s via a label, band or music blog that I follow somehow, but this one just seemed to pop up from nowhere. I can’t find where else it’s been covered (WHA?!) and the tab’s been sat on my browser for so long that I can’t recall how I clicked through to it. However, this is all totally beside the point, isn’t it?

What I should probably have started off with saying is that this album is ONE OF MY PERSONAL FAVOURITE IF NOT OBJECTIVELY BEST THINGS IN THE WORLD RIGHT NOW. Seriously, it ticks every single box. Retro-futurist synths, slick, glitchy electronics, layers of drifting drones, tight knots of improv guitar, driving krautrock rhythmic backings and, just to top it all of, fucking sax solos! If my heart could make music (or, more precisely, if I had the energy, self-motivation and spare time to get off my arse and make something), I would want it to sound like this. And if I’d have made it I would be very proud of it indeed.

Image is by painter and printmaker Philip Taaffe.

This entry was written by Mary J Bilge and published on August 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm. It’s filed under music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

