add void

Richard Skelton – Rapture (Reprise)

Rapture (Reprise), the third and final part in Richard Skelton’s series of compositions documenting the Yorkshire landscape, Landings, was released yesterday. It’s an immensely hypnotic piece of music, washing over you in waves of creaking, bowed strings, haunting, decayed field recordings and creeping, crackling surges of analogue noise; like being immersed in the opaque fluid of someone’s half-forgotten memories.

If you’re not already familiar with this fantastically gifted, visionary sound artist (whose work has also come under the names of Clouwbeck, *AR, A Broken Consort, Carousell and Riftmusic) then we’d highly recommend that you use this release as a starting point to check him out. Luckily, the wonderful people at Aeolian have compiled all three releases into one and uploaded them to Bandcamp – here for you to enjoy in their entirety.

Image is by Daniel Everett, who we really, really love.

This entry was written by Mary J Bilge and published on June 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm. It’s filed under music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: